Things With Wings

The Commercial Aviation Blog
See All Posts
  • Advising LaHood
    Posted by Andrew Compart 9:47 PM on May 25, 2010

    The Future of Aviation Advisory Committee, advising Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood, met for the first time today and created five subcommittees to take a closer look at five different topics. Here's who is leading each subcommittee, and who the members are on each one. This is presented without comment -- well, except for the competition subcommittee, because I just have to note that its leader is merger advocate Glenn Tilton, who is taking part in trying to create the world's biggest airline with the merger of United and Continental. That's also the subcommitte that has generated the most interest among the 19 members: 10 of them are on it.

    -- Chairman: Glenn Tilton, chairman, president and CEO of UAL, parent company of United Airlines
    -- Susan Baer, director, aviation department, Port Authority of New York & New Jersey
    -- Bryan Bedford, chairman, president and CEO of Republic Airways
    -- Severin Borenstein, E.T. Grether professor of business administration and public policy at the Haas School of Business (and, I should note, a staff economist at the Civil Aeronautics Board during airline deregulation)
    -- Patricia Friend, international president, Association of Flight Attendants-CWA, AFL-CIO
    -- Ana McAhron-Schulz, director of economic and financial analysis, Air Line Pilots Assn.
    -- William McGee, consultant to the Consumers Union
    -- Daniel McKenzie, airline analyst, Hudson Securities
    -- Christopher Williams, chairman, CEO and founder of The Williams Capital Group and Williams Capital Management
    -- Jack Pelton, chairman, president and CEO of Cessna Aircraft Co.

    -- Chairman: Bedford
    -- Juan Alonso, associate professor in the department of aeronautics and astronautics at Stanford University
    -- Nicole Piasecki, vice president of business development at Boeing Commercial Airplanes
    -- Cynthia Egnotovich, segment president, nacelles and interior systems, Goodrich Corp.
    -- Raul Regalado, president and CEO, Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority

    -- Chairman: Pelton
    -- Borenstein
    -- McKenzie
    -- Regalado
    -- Tilton
    -- Williams
    -- Theila Bowens, president and CEO, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

    -- Chairwoman: Piasecki
    -- Alonso
    -- David Barger, president and CEO, JetBlue Airways
    -- Robert Lekites, president, UPS Airlines
    -- McGee
    -- John Conley, international administrative vice president and air transport division director, Transport Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO
    -- Baer

    -- Chairwoman: Friend
    -- Conley
    -- Lekites
    -- McAhron-Schulz
    -- Egnotovich
    -- Bowens

    Tags: tw99, LaHood, committee, Tilton

  • Recommend
  • Report Abuse

Comments on Blog Post